She's a character, she has opinions.

Hidden Huntress by Danielle L. Jensen & The Rose Society by Marie Lu

leave a comment »

Hidden Huntress (The Malediction Trilogy, #2)Hidden Huntress by Danielle L. Jensen

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Cécile, free from Trollus now lives with her mother in Trianon. She’s living her dream of singing in the opera, even though her mother is not at all the kind woman she thought. But Tristan is still imprisoned and tortured in Trollus and Cécile would do anything to save him. Including swear an oath to the Troll King that she will find Anushka, the witch who cursed the trolls.

While Cécile searches in vain and struggles with her mother’s strange cruelties, Tristan faces a harsh awakening as he tries to help fix problems he had a hand in creating, all the while trying to stay alive.

This book is about betrayals and impostors and the terrible, terrible things family will do. It’s also about integrity and cleverness and sacrifice. I quite like this series and am really looking forward to more.

(Why is this book 4 stars instead of 5? There were obvious clues that I felt were ignored by characters in a way that seemed contrived to draw out the secret.)

See review of Book #1 in this series Stolen Songbird.

 

The Rose Society (The Young Elites, #2)The Rose Society by Marie Lu

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I remain fascinated with this series and with Adelina. She can’t fully control her powers and she loses more control after she kills. I’m not sure how I feel about “the voices.” I can’t decide if the author is suggesting mental illness or if this somehow ties to [redacted]. (For spoilers please see my full review on Goodreads.)

Violetta also fascinates me. She is loyal to her sister, but she is aware of Adelina’s loss of control. I particularly liked how that played out at the ending of this book.

Teren is also a fascinating character, with his self-hatred and how he wants to kill all malfettos, except for the one’s he considers useful to his cause. His relationship with Giulietta is fascinating, too, in a creepy sort of way.

This series captures me in an emotional and intellectual way. I highly recommend it.

See review of Book #1 in this series The Young Elites.

View all my reviews

Written by tldegray

February 11, 2016 at 9:30 am

Leave a Reply

