She's a character, she has opinions.

Spoonie Games

with one comment

WhiteBoard

Eat your heart out, Dr. House.

Over the last few days I’ve been playing one of my least favorite spoonie games. I call it “Something’s wrong; what is it?” The goal of this game is to figure out what, exactly, is wrong. And you win by finding something that will treat the symptoms. It is not an excellent game, but it can be played by the whole family.

The first thing you do is walk around saying things like “I don’t feel well,” and “what the hell is going on with me?” This lets the other players know that you’re ready to play. It’s the equivalent of getting out the dice and game board.

Then you begin by listing your symptoms. Be as vague as possible because right now they’re as vague as possible. Shout them out in random order. Wonder if there’s any connection between any of them and sigh in defeat when you can’t find anything. Make a list, you’re probably going to need it.

Now it’s time for the bonus round, or, as you all know and love it, “Dr. Google!” This round is optional but it does add fun to the game and gives your non-spoonie friends a way to feel super-involved. When you’ve considered and dismissed the idea that you have Miniature Giant Space Herpes, as Dr. Google suggests, return to your list and try to make connections among the many illnesses you do have. Make sure to consider all your triggers for all your illnesses. Consider this may not be one thing wrong but many. Maybe buy a second whiteboard; you probably need it.

Here’s where you can play the home game. I’m going to give you my list and you can try to beat my score of winning the game after two days. Have fun!

I have Multiple Sclerosis, a possible secondary auto-immune disorder, anxiety, depression, sinusitis, I’m recovering from a cold, I get migraines, I over-exerted myself last week, I have sleep apnea, it’s in the high 90s this week. My fatigue has been off the charts. I have a low grade headache in the front of my head and sharp pains in my neck. I’m woozy, light-headed, and yesterday while outside felt as if I was going to pass out. I’m more clumsy than usual and my legs feel weak and achey. I’m very irritable. I’m misplacing words more than usual and my recall is slower than normal. I have low-grade nausea and my appetite is erratic. Something’s wrong; what is it?

(Answer in the comments.)

Written by tldegray

June 24, 2013 at 8:48 am

Posted in Chronic Illness, Health

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. And the winner is: Migraine! Many of the symptoms are from the prodrome phase, some are auras I occasionally get, and some are the attack itself.

    tldegray

    June 24, 2013 at 8:50 am


Leave a Reply

