She's a character, she has opinions.

Wednesday Reading Meme

leave a comment »

What did you just finish?

Parasite Rex by Carl Zimmer. About half of us have toxoplasmosis. That was my takeaway from this book. Also, totally cool the way parasites can control hosts. But, still, toxoplasmosis.

A Scholar of Magics by Caroline Stevermer. It was good but it didn’t capture me the way the first book–A College of Magics–did. This book takes us, and Jane, to Glasscastle, where Jane naturally gets involved in something big. It was a fun book, with banter and danger and Jane being Jane and I very much enjoyed it. I wasn’t prepared to have a male character take center stage but I liked Samuel, I liked seeing Jane, Glasscastle, and England through his American “cowboy” eyes.

The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins: The Hunger Games, Catching Fire, and Mockinjay. If you haven’t read these yet, I notice they are $5, $5.99, and $5.99, respectively, in Kindle format (follow my link). I know, I’m late. I know, you all told me. At least I didn’t watch the movie until I finished the books, okay? I fell into these books and read them starting Thursday night and finishing Saturday night. And by night I mean early Sunday morning because bedtime isn’t until the book is finished.

I adore Katniss. I was going to anyway because she’s an archer and if you know me you know I love an archer. But I love her temperament, I love how she says and does things without thinking when she’s angry. I love that she had to grow up early and hard and I absolutely love that she was able to maintain some sort of innocence through all that. I most especially love that when she’s made into a symbol she makes that work for her and does the right–and difficult–things.

One thing that surprised me is that I came out of these books being very fond of Haymitch. And of the relationship he has with Katniss and Peeta. It’s hard to comprehend what he went through, and the cruelty of having victors be mentors for ever after is terrible.

Okay, talk to me of spoilers in the comments.

What are you currently reading?

This catches me at that rare time between books. I am dabbling a bit, reading a chapter here and there of Chicks Dig Comics because I totally do! Reading this is making me want to read more comics.

What will you be reading next?

I’m not sure. I think I’ll be reading books 2 and 3 of Richelle Mead’s Bloodlines series. I liked the first book, but they’re no Vampire Academies.

Written by tldegray

March 20, 2013 at 7:19 pm

Leave a Reply

