She's a character, she has opinions.

Spoonie Showers

with 2 comments

Showers are great, am I right? The perfect temperature of water streaming down on you, soothing sore muscles, waking you up, getting you ready to face the day. You can sing in the shower; you can cry in the shower. You can use the plainest of soaps or as many scents as you like. Showers are absolutely great.

You know what sucks? Being certain kinds of chronically ill or disabled and losing that total shower greatness.

Today I went into the shower full of energy and feeling marvelous. I use a mint shampoo (Dr. Bronners 18-in-1 Hemp Peppermint, natch) and I love the scent of it. Couple that with a super-scrubby oatmeal soap and my showers should be wonderful.

I left the shower with my left hand and forearm numb. Both my hands are trembling. My torso is aching, especially around my hips. My thigh muscles are painful and fatigued, and it’s hard to stand. I leaned on things in order to dry off and get dressed, then I collapsed onto the couch where I’ve been for an hour now. If today goes as any other day has gone, I’ve used all my day’s energy taking this shower.

Bear in mind, this was a day when I could take a shower. I had the energy to stand in it, without using my shower stool. I had the ability to lift my arms and wash my hair, something that doesn’t always happen. I was able to get up long enough to actually shower, also something that doesn’t always happen.

This is one of the little things that sucks about being a spoonie. What should be simple turns into a huge production that instead of getting me ready to face the day sends me back to bed.

Written by tldegray

January 31, 2013 at 4:11 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I have Post Herpetic Neuralgia on my back, side and face so showering really hurts. The skin sensitivity goes haywire with the temperature and sensation of the water feels like it is cutting me and it is far from feeling invigorating! I also have a deep pain that gets worse simply standing and moving my arm, so like you, I usually end up feeling worse than I did before and spending the rest of the day feeling terrible. After 10 years it is hard to remember a time when a shower was easy task that you didn’t even think about.

    Nicola (@craftybookworm)

    March 11, 2013 at 7:55 pm

    • I have PHN on my left hand and forearm. Had since I had the shingles in 2008. Luckily for me it’s faded a bit over the years (or some of my MS medications are helping it) so I don’t always have that skin sensitivity. But when I did… OUCH. Even sunbeams on my arm hurt so much. I completely sympathize with you.

      Isn’t it awful? Showering used to be such a pleasurable thing, now it’s an ordeal.

      tldegray

      March 13, 2013 at 1:57 pm


Leave a Reply

