She's a character, she has opinions.

And so the conversation turned.

with 2 comments

If you are singing “Fascination” right now, you’re welcome. And if you weren’t until I said as much you’re doubly welcome.

Being chronically ill and disabled, the majority of my conversations are written. They take place online and generally they allow for more time between responses than verbal conversation. But conversations do go on, whether or not you’re participating in them, and they do come to a natural end.

This is why my friends and I have an unwritten rule of email that you respond whenever you are able and that the conversation goes on hold in between responses. It’s less a rule of conversation and more an understanding of each other’s lives and needs. And it’s freeing and so wonderful.

What frustrates me is when illness forces me to leave a conversation. Often by the time I’m able to get back to it, it has run it’s course and is over. It would be silly, sometimes even rude, to step in and try to begin it again. I’m not talking about casual conversations about, say, breakfast and cat memes. I’m talking about political discussions, issues of social justice, things that, to me, are Important with a capital I.

Sometimes I solve this problem by not entering the discussion at all, but, let’s be honest, not talking and not discussing Important issues is not a thing I’m truly capable of doing. Sometimes instead of discussing the issue I take it to my blog and write what I feel. It’s great, don’t get me wrong, I love blogging, but it loses the give-and-take and exchange of ideas you can get from a discussion. So most times I just plain try. I gamble that I’ll be well for as long as the conversation lasts and I jump in. Sometimes I fail but sometimes I succeed and those times are great.

Written by tldegray

January 30, 2013 at 8:43 am

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The internet runs at it’s own speed. Half the time I see something on Twitter or Facebook or some of the forums I follow, it’s LONG since past when I could reply and feel like I wasn’t incredibly late to the party. Questions on the forum have a hundred replies before I even see them, etc. But email’s different. I completely agree as far as the ‘back and forth’ you’re talking about, and it reminded me of how people used to carry on long conversations and correspondances back in the postal mail (snail mail.. a term that’s even out of date itself now..) days. Now seems quaint and romantic, but honestly still kinda cool.

    tintros

    January 30, 2013 at 2:14 pm

    • Part of what’s good about the internet is that when you’re late to that conversation on a forum if it’s a topic you really want to talk about you can take it to your own space and your own friends. And hopefully you’ll get to talk about it there.

      tldegray

      January 31, 2013 at 4:17 pm


Leave a Reply

