She's a character, she has opinions.

Natural Hair Care

leave a comment »

The thing I’m learning about natural hair care is that there is no forever right way. In the beginning a baking soda wash and apple cider vinegar rinse was perfect. I figured out right away that I had to heavily dilute those things because my hair is very thin and fine. Then over last winter my hair got very dry and I could no longer use BS/ACV. After a week or so of heavy conditioning with Dabur Vatika Coconut Hair Oil I went to conditioner only washing (using a conditioner with no “cones” or “canes”). For the rest of the winter water-only washing with occasional CO-washing and Vatika treatments kept my hair shiny, soft, and clean. But come warmer weather that wasn’t enough and my hair was oily and heavy. I tried BS/ACV again but it was too much. CO-washing was to little.

There are some techniques that work for me, no matter what cleanser or toner I’m using. Pouring the cleanser on my hair–or in the case of water only, really drenching my hair in hot water–then scrubbing my scalp and roots. Ending my shower with a cold water rinse closes the cuticle of the hair and leaves my hair looking shinier and feeling better. Brushing with a boar bristle hair brush helps spread the hair oils down the shaft and eliminates that dry at the ends look I used to get between hair cuts.

Now I’m trying Dr. Bronner’s18-in-1 Hemp Peppermint soap followed by Dr. Bronner’s Organic Shikakai Conditioner Hair Rinse. I knew right away I needed to dilute the soap much more than is recommended and did the same for the hair rinse. Instead of 1-2 caps of the rinse per cup of water I used 2 caps of rinse per 4 cups of water. I ended up with a heavy buildup in my hair so I think from here on out it’s going to be 1 cap per 4 cups of water with a much, much longer rinsing time. We’ll see if this does the trick for Summer hair care.

Written by tldegray

July 7, 2012 at 5:26 pm

Leave a Reply

