She's a character, she has opinions.

Bitter is the New Black by Jen Lancaster

leave a comment »

Bitter is the New Black : Confessions of a Condescending, Egomaniacal, Self-Centered Smart-Ass, or Why You Should Never Carry a Prada Bag to the Unemployment Office : A MemoirBitter is the New Black: Confessions of a Condescending, Egomaniacal, Self-Centered Smart-Ass, or Why You Should Never Carry a Prada Bag to the Unemployment Office: A Memoir by Jen Lancaster

My sister made me read this book. No, really, she did. There was a deal involved and as part of it I found myself downloading this book to my Kindle while on the phone with my sister. (I would like it noted for posterity that my sister has yet to keep her part of the bargain.)

At the beginning of the book I was thinking “Who is this Jen Lancaster? I hate her.” I know she assured her readers she really was that bad but who believes that sort of assurance? In this case it’s true, she really was that bad. I kept wondering why my sister wanted me to read this book. Was I that bad? Did she really think I could relate to this terrible person? OH MY GOD WHY DOES MY SISTER HATE ME?! You see where this was going.

But then I started laughing. First a little chuckle, then a guffaw, and finally some of that truly undignified laughing complete with streaming tears and some snorting. Because Jen Lancaster is funny. She knows who she is–good parts and bad–and she tells a great story. And she never hesitates to laugh at herself.

If I play my cards right my sister–who had better keep her part of the bargain–will buy me these books for many holidays to come. If you don’t have a sister you might have to buy them yourself but, trust me, it’s worth it.

View all my reviews on Goodreads

Written by tldegray

April 28, 2012 at 3:20 pm

Posted in Book Reviews

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

