She's a character, she has opinions.

2011 in review

leave a comment »

How to start blogging again after a long absence? With a meme, of course! This comes from the Friday 5.

  1. In 2011, what did you do far too many times?

    Go to the hospital for doctor visits or tests. I did this way too often before finally getting a diagnosis in early Summer. I’d love to be able to say that it’s over, but apparently chronic illness means I get a few month reprieve before the series of follow-up and maintenance appointments begin.

  2. In 2011, what did you rediscover?

    The unlimited support of my family and friends. The simple joy of hanging out and talking about a television show with my husband. My enjoyment of writing.

  3. What 2011 event will you still be paying for in 2012?

    You know, I don’t really know how to answer this. Paying for in a monetary way? In an emotional way? A van hit my house and caused some damage that will be repaired in the Spring, but I won’t be paying for any of that. There’s nothing I regret emotionally that I’ll be paying for. The only thing I can really think of is how my MS diagnosis means that from here on out I will always be paying for expensive medications. (Let’s hear it for good insurance coverage that makes copaxone only $50/month insted of $4k.)

  4. In what unexpected place did you find a friend in 2011?

    MS Support groups and conferences. I won’t say they are best friends or even really more than acquaintances, but it was so unbelievably nice to talk to people who get it. Not only do they get it, they live it, every single day. There was no having to pause the conversation to explain the weird symptom, there was just a lot of “hey, you know that thing…?” and someone replying with an emphatic “YES!” That’s something I won’t forget and it’s why I’m going to continue to attend these types of events.

  5. As 2011 comes to a close, what in your life is trending upward toward a much better 2012?

    I’m getting better at controlling my symptoms, following up with doctors, taking medications, doing all sorts of exercises, relaxation techniques, and therapy. Hopefully that will get me to a place in 2012 where I’m better able to participate in life the way I want to.

In a nutshell, 2011 was full of stress. First the stress of still not knowing what was wrong with me, then the stress of having Multiple Sclerosis. In between was that brief and wonderful time of relief when I was happy to finally know what was wrong so that I could start treatment. I’d like to regain that feeling, at least part of it. and I know I can do that by continuing to take control of my illness and getting back to the things I enjoy.

Written by tldegray

January 9, 2012 at 9:00 am

Leave a Reply

