She's a character, she has opinions.

How do you know when to call your doctor?

leave a comment »

Cic_what_warrants

Serious symptoms now normal. [Chronic Illness Cat] What warrants doctor visit? (Source)

I didn’t write this Chronic Illness Cat submission, but I could have. Every three months a nurse from my specialty pharmaceutical provider calls to ask about my chronic illness. She has a list of questions about symptoms I may have and I generally answer them by saying “yes, but it’s nothing new.” If someone isn’t asking me about them I’m generally not paying attention to them, because these symptoms are my new normal.

So how do I know when something warrants medical treatment? How much pain is too much? How many extra muscle spasms? How much fatigue?

The answer for me is I don’t know, and I probably won’t know, so I have to place my trust in someone else. That someone for me is my MS Nurse. She’s such a valuable part of my team, maybe one of the most valuable parts. She listens to my concerns, gives me information, and, most importantly, tells me when something requires an appointment with my neurologist. I couldn’t do it without her.

Written by tldegray

November 21, 2011 at 2:00 pm

Leave a Reply

