She's a character, she has opinions.

Deep breath. Fresh start.

leave a comment »

The theme for this year’s Invisible Illness Awareness Week is “deep breath, fresh start.” Boy, do I need both of those.

Deep_breath_fresh_start

In May of this year, after 3-1/2 years of testing, I received a diagnosis of Multiple Sclerosis (MS). At first I was relieved. Very relieved. Early Summer was a pretty good time for me. I treated my symptoms, I began preventative medication, and a lot of my questions were answered.

But after a while it all began to wear on me. Managing chronic illness is hard and it takes all my resources just to do that. I don’t have a lot left for anything else. This year’s IIAW theme comes at just the right time for me. I hit a crisis point and I took a deep breath. Then I made a plan so I could make a fresh start.

This post barely skims the surface of my life, but right now it’s all I have to give. It’s also part of my fresh start, which is really me getting back to the basics of who I am.

Deep breath.

Fresh start.

Leave a Reply

