She's a character, she has opinions.

Ways to Cope in a Crisis When Living With a Chronic Illness

leave a comment »

By Diana Lee of Somebody Heal Me. Read her full post here.

Coping with a crisis is and probably always will be hard. But with a better idea of what helps me push through I have more confidence in my ability to survive just about anything. You can do the same by coming up with an approach that suits your needs and tendencies before you need to cope with your next crisis.

  1. Breathe.
  2. Focus on being rational and maintaining perspective.
  3. Lean on family and friends.
  4. Ask for help.
  5. Be kind to myself.

Self-Care. For me, the first thing that goes in a crisis is taking care of myself. I get so focused on the crisis–and on solving it–that self-care goes right out the window. Am I eating? Am I remembering to take my meds on time? Am I resting when I need to? No, no, and no. I have to make sure I am physically well before anything else can happen.

Panic if You Need to Panic. Seriously. Get it out. Do it alone, write it down, call your friend, talk to your dog. If part of what you need to do in order to get to a place of calm and focus is to go through the panic, then do it. Often it helps me to see the worst case scenario written out so that I can then recognize things aren’t all that bad.

Organize & Prioritize. I’m a listmaker, always have been. Having a clear list of pros, cons, and any other little details right in front of me helps me figure out what to do and when to do it. Also, having all the details in front of me like that makes it easier for me to cope with any illness-caused cognitive difficulties I might be having, and less cognitive issues means a calmer me.

Ask for Help. I agree with Diana, this is a big one. It can be difficult to ask but sometimes admitting you need help is the only thing standing between you and getting it. Ask your family, ask your friends. Depending upon what the issue is, do some googling and see if there is an organization that might be able to help.

Know Yourself. As Diana writes, know your needs and tendencies. What triggers you? What calms you? When is your best functioning time of day? When is your worst? Have a good idea of when you are best able to tackle the crisis before you even begin, that’ll give you a better chance of success.

Written by tldegray

August 23, 2011 at 4:00 pm

Posted in Chronic Illness, Health

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

