She's a character, she has opinions.

Friends and Support Online

leave a comment »

Stephanie Kennedy at But You Don’t Look Sick writes about her “friends in the box“:

These people exist.  They make me laugh, they make me cry and they know just what to say when I don’t.  We are an online community, and while the stigma of “cyber friends” has softened and become more acceptable in the past few years, there are still those who refuse to see online friends as being “real”.  I can try to explain to my long time friend sitting in my house, that the aches in my muscles are intolerable to the point of gnawing my own arm off….but she’ll never know.  My Spoonie family knows…they’ve been there, the pain is real to them and they know sometimes there’s just nothing to say  to make it better.  That kind of inspiration isn’t found in the local playgroup or with friends at a dinner party.

Written by tldegray

November 22, 2010 at 12:00 pm

Posted in Health

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

