She's a character, she has opinions.

Brain Fog Mad Libs

leave a comment »

Selena at Oh My Aches and Pains describes brain fog in the best way!

Jump to one of my bad fibro-fog days and trying to communicate is like playing a wacky and warped version of Mad Libs. My favorite nouns are (in order of preference): thing, whatchamacallit, thingamajig and whoosie-whatsit. When I’m not trying to remember what things are called, I specialize in calling objects by the wrong name.

My most commonly used noun is “wossname” a la Terry Pratchett. I’m also very fond of “thing” which makes me sound like I’m in an Aaron Sorkin production: “Honey, could you get me the thing that I use to do the thing?”

I’m also working on my pantomime but apparently I’m not quite there yet because my miming of “bag” by running my hands over my shoulder as if I were carrying one caused my husband’s eyes to widen. I’m not sure what he was thinking but it apparently didn’t in any way convey “bag” to him.

Maybe I should carry a big pad around with me and make my life into a game of Pictionary. What do you think?

Written by tldegray

October 4, 2010 at 2:30 am

Leave a Reply

