She's a character, she has opinions.

The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms by N.K. Jemisin

leave a comment »

The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms (The Inheritance Trilogy, #1)The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms by N.K. Jemisin
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I read a post of someone recommending this author and, looking for something to read, I got the sample chapters from amazon.com for my kindle. I fell into this world so hard that I didn’t think for even a second before clicking “purchase” so I didn’t have to stop reading.

So why did I fall into this book? First, the writing. N.K. Jemisin‘s writing is beautiful. She has a way of drawing you in, putting you right next to her heroine, Yeine Darr. She also created an amazingly fleshed-out world, with gods and rulers and races that are different but not lesser. I can’t stress how much time and effort must have gone into world-building, and how that made the book so much more enjoyable to read.

There was something kind of wonderful about Yeine Darr. She was a barbarian, by the standards of the ruling people, a warrior, and she was ill-prepared for the political machinations of the court she found herself in. She was trapped in a mess not of her making with no way out. The amazing thing about Yeine was that she did give up, for a minute, for a day, but then she went forward anyway, not to win, but to choose her own manner of losing. I admired her for that.

Buy from Amazon.com: The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms (The Inheritance Trilogy)

View all my reviews on Goodreads

Written by tldegray

September 24, 2010 at 6:36 pm

Posted in Book Reviews

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

