She's a character, she has opinions.

Pain Awareness Month: Virtual March on Washington

with 2 comments

September is Pain Awareness Month. Now, if you know me, you know I have pain. You’ve heard me mention PHN (post-herpetic neuralgia) and talk about flare-ups. You may have seen me wince, cradle my arm, and try to rub the pain away. You might know I’ve tried a long list of drugs (lidocaine, tegretol, gabapentin, oral steroids, cymbalta, amitriptyline, etc.) to combat the pain and that none of them work. And you probably know how I had to stop working and take leaves from school because I simply couldn’t function through the pain and its effects.

What you might not know is how many people are out there dealing with their own pain. The American Pain Foundation is trying to help with that by sponsoring a Virtual March on Washington. If you’re in any way affected by chronic pain (as a sufferer, a caregiver, or a spouse, family member or friend) you can join the March here and tell your story. (For other ways to get involved, click here.)

Now, let me tell you one last thing about pain. See those two paragraphs up there? When I began typing them my PHN, which is centered in my hand and arm, was at a 6 on a pain scale of 1-10. Now that I’m done, it’s at an 8, and it’s numb and tingling with shooting pains in my hand. I’m going to spend the next several hours resting until the pain level drops enough for me to use my hand. How’s your pain today?

Written by tldegray

September 2, 2010 at 12:48 pm

Posted in Chronic Pain, Health

Tagged with

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. As a fellow PHN champ, thanks for your positivity 🙂 I’m 15 months into my struggle and I can’t wait to put it behind me and start my family! More young people will be affected by PHN due to a lack of public knowledge and, oddly enough, the chicken pox vaccine: http://www2.macleans.ca/2010/08/16/generation-at-risk/Best of luck to you with your journey.

    Carrie

    September 3, 2010 at 7:57 pm

  2. I posted that macleans article on my facebook and was shocked by how many comments it got! As a fellow PHN battleaxe, I am constantly stating that it isn’t just for old people anymore and that article scared the bejebbes out of me. I got shingles at 24 and again at 29 and then have been suffering from severe PHN for the last 3 years. The combination of the high stress compromised immune system and the vaccine is seemingly a clusterbomb for this chronic pain hell. There were 4 other friends who had gotten shingles on my facebook – luckily none with PHN… the delicate balance of nature disrupted by humans, yet again.

    dana

    September 10, 2010 at 4:32 pm


Leave a Reply

