She's a character, she has opinions.

Trick of the Light by Rob Thurman

leave a comment »

Trick of the Light (Trickster, #1) Trick of the Light by Rob Thurman
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I love a book that isn’t what I thought it would be. I began reading this book expecting your standard urban-fantasy, something more along the lines of Thurman’s “Cal Leandros” series (which I enjoy very much). By the last few chapters I was grinning from ear to ear because it wasn’t all what I expected.

I enjoyed the character of Trixa. Every time I thought I had a bead on her she did something to change that. I couldn’t quite pin her down and that made her fun to read about.

I also really enjoyed Zeke and Griffin, the demon-fighting partners Trixa first meets when they’re teenagers running from foster care and the law. Their bond is similar to that of Cal and Niko (and that of so many other brothers who battle the supernatural) but, as with Trixa, there was something so natural and different about them and their relationship that I smiled all the way through the resolution of the book.

Great fun. I’m looking forward to more, and to the eventual and inevitable meeting of characters from this book and Thurman’s other series.

Buy from Amazon.com: Trick of the Light by Rob Thurman

View all my reviews at Goodreads >>

Written by tldegray

August 27, 2010 at 8:25 am

Posted in Book Reviews

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

