She's a character, she has opinions.

Deadtown by Nancy Holzner

leave a comment »

Deadtown (Deadtown, #1)Deadtown by Nancy Holzner
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I wanted to like this more than I did. I liked it quite a bit anyway, and I loved that it was set in a Boston I could recognize. It’s a good first effort in a very crowded genre. I think if Holzner can develop the supporting characters and keep Victory from becoming all-powerful then I’ll enjoy any other books in this series.

I very much enjoyed the premise, that of a post-plague Boston with paranormal inhabitants and their struggle to gain rights outside of Massachusetts. It could have been a transparent allusion to LGBTIQ rights, but it went further than that in that PAs (Paranormal Americans) weren’t considered human in other states. I found the plotline involving Victory’s 10 year old niece and the question of her humanity to be chilling.

Holzner included some touches of humor that I liked–including Victory’s vampire roomie Juliet and the is she or isn’t she Juliet Capulet question. I was less intrigued by Tina the teenaged zombie who seemed to exist only as a foil for Victory. I was also less than thrilled with the men in Victory’s life because it seemed as if Holzner was struggling to set up a love triangle and tossing out problems and resolutions as fast as she could to accomplish that end goal.

I’m of two minds about Victory. I like that there are things in her life that are big and awful and that, for the most part, she isn’t consumed by them. I like that she’s snarky and takes care of herself. There’s a potential here for a large cast of characters and for my favorite of all things found family, but that potential is lessened because the majority of the supporting characters are flat and underdeveloped. In comparison to them Victory comes off as a bit of a Mary Sue. However when she’s with a better fleshed out character, such as Frank, she seems far more human and engaging. Again, I think there’s huge potential here for a wonderful series and I look forward to seeing what comes next.

Buy from Amazon.com: Deadtown by Nancy Holzner


View all my reviews on Goodreads >>

Written by tldegray

August 6, 2010 at 8:04 am

Posted in Book Reviews

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

