She's a character, she has opinions.

A #spoonie lunch invitation.

leave a comment »

I received the best gift today. A chronically ill friend invited chronically ill me to lunch at a future date, saying as she did that she knew it was possible that neither one of us would have the spoons (energy/physical health and well-being) to go through with it. Spoonies out there know what I’m talking about when I say what a fantastic gift that invitation was.

Invitations for social activities come with such pressure attached to them. How do I explain that I might not be able to go, no matter how much I want to? How do I make my friends understand that my health is so variable that I can’t give them a definitive answer? How do I make it so neither they nor I end up with a confusing mess of hurt feelings? I always explain, my friends always try to understand, but knowing right up front that I didn’t have to explain because the person extending the invitation already understood (and knew I understood the same about her) is something I will treasure for a very long time, whether or not we actually do get to have that lunch.

Written by tldegray

July 18, 2010 at 12:23 am

Posted in Health

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

