She's a character, she has opinions.

“The antibiotic theory of chronic illness.”

leave a comment »

The idea seems to be that everything has a “cure”, all you have to do is find the “right” treatment and whatever you have will go away forever.

Healthy people mostly only have experience with things like colds, flu, and infections; with maybe a few injuries thrown in. For simple stuff like this, it’s easy — take a few pills for the symptoms of the cold or flu, and in a week or so, it’s gone; take an antibiotic for about 10 days, and the infection is CURED. Injuries involve some down time for healing, and maybe a little physical therapy, and everything is back to normal. Because this is all the experience they have with illness, they assume that ALL illness is like that.

[Sick and Tired of Being Sick and Tired]

Also see 8 Ways to Handle Unwanted Treatment Advice

 

There is no cure for PHN. None. Zip, zilch, nada. No magic pill, no “right” treatment. What there is, is pain management. There’s finding something that lessens or dulls the pain and learning how to balance my life and my symptoms. Working to maintain that balance will never stop.

Saying “I hope you feel better soon” seems to go hand in hand with this idea. I know the person who says that to me really does hope I feel better soon, and so do I, but it also contains the idea that PHN is temporary and I’ll be back to normal soon. I won’t. It just doesn’t work that way.

I wish it were as simple as people assume. I really do.

Written by tldegray

June 3, 2010 at 5:38 pm

Posted in Chronic Illness, Health

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

