She's a character, she has opinions.

Party (Dis)Unity

with one comment

It’s going to happen tonight. All the news outlets are forecasting it. My candidate is going to step up and call for party unity.

This isn’t the first time I’ve been asked to set aside what I want and how I feel for the good of the party, and Hillary Clinton isn’t going to be the first person to ask me to do it. The difference is, this is the time I’m expected to do it. This is the line and when my candidate draws it I and others like me are expected to toe it.

Don’t mistake my meaning, I’m voting Democrat. I’m voting for Barack Obama and I’m liking it because the alternative is not something I’m prepared to deal with. But I am not unified. I am not giving up the things that are important to me in order to become the kind of Democrat who is accepted. That’s the message set it all aside for party unity sends, that I have to put aside everything and become just like the dominant group. That I have to conform.

I don’t want to be unified if that’s what unity means. I don’t want to be one of the people or just another face in the masses. I want my individuality to be recognized just as I want to recognize yours. I want the party (and by that I do not mean the party as a cohesive unit but the party as the multitude of individuals who make up the Democratic party) to acknowledge my differences, needs, and wants, even if those needs and wants won’t be the priority this time around. I don’t want to be dismissed or asked to set those things aside. I want to be recognized for everything I am.

Yesterday Senator Clinton said about the Democratic party “We’re not the fall-in-line party. We are diverse. But make no mistake, we are unified.” [Source] She gets it.

Bookmark and Share

Written by tldegray

August 26, 2008 at 7:53 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You guys rock. I have questions that I believe to be valid.

    How am I supposed to stand up for my rights as a woman in this political climate? Am I allowed to, this time around? How and where do I draw the line between “Anyone but McCain ’08” and legitimate support for Obama? How do I do what I know I need to do without losing sight of my greater political goals and ideals? Do you get what I’m getting at?

    Sonia

    August 27, 2008 at 3:15 pm


Leave a Reply

